2018 Olympic Winter Games Sports Calendar: Figure Skating

Figure skating is still one of the most popular events at the Winter Olympics, with lots of eyeballs from all over the world. Here’s the information you need to keep tabs on the PyeongChang action in 2018.

At the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, figure skating will feature five distinct competitions: Men’s Individual Skating, Women’s Individual Skating, Pairs Skating, Ice Dancing and the Team Event.

Simple skating consists of a short program and a free skating program. Individual performance should include jumps, spins, steps, etc.

Pair skating involves men and women skating in pairs to perform a series of maneuvers, including thrown jumps, aerial lifts, pair spins, and death spirals.

Ice dance consists of a couple dancing together on the ice, while performing complex steps in rhythm with the music. Each skater cannot move away from their partner for 5 seconds or more.

• Charlie White and Meryl Davis, gold medalists, explain ice dancing

Team event is a competition similar to a gymnastics team in that all disciplines are contested. A nation gathers its best skaters from each of the above disciplines and competes to earn points for their team.

The Games will be broadcast on NBC, NBCSN and the NBC Universal networks. Each Olympic event will be available to stream live and on demand on NBCOlympics.com and the NBC Sports app.

Find the full figure skating event schedule below (times and dates are EST). The medals will be presented at the hours in bold.

Dated

Event

Time

Thursday February 8

Team event: Short programs for men and couples

20:00

Saturday February 10

Team event: short dance, short ladies, free pairs

20:00

Sunday February 11

Team event: free skating men and women, free dance

20:00

Tuesday February 13

Short program in pairs

20:00

Wednesday February 14

Free skating in pairs

8:30 p.m.

Thursday February 15

Men’s short program

20:00

Friday February 16

Men’s free skating

20:00

Sunday February 18

Ice dance short dance

20:00

Monday February 19

Ice dance free dance

20:00

Tuesday February 20

Ladies short program

20:00

Thursday February 22

Ladies free skating

20:00

Saturday February 24

Exhibition gala

7:30 p.m.


Source link

Sara R. Cicero